Hiding From The Kids in my Prayer Closer: A Book Review


About the Book:

Finding grace and laughter when motherhood gets real

Soon after Jessica Kastner became a mother, she wondered if she was the only mom who found pretend play more boring than watching playdough harden and who dreaded yet another friend’s Instagram post of homemade deliciousness.

In Hiding from My Kids in the Prayer Closet, Kastner shares her experience as an “unmom”-a mom who loves her kids more than she loves the daily experience of mothering. She helps readers laugh at the ridiculous, delight in the unpredictable, and enjoy being the mothers God made them to be.

My Review:

This book….there were times I laughed out loud…in public. The joys, sorrows, longings and dreams are beautifully and humorously expressed by the author in a very open and transparent book. Divided into chapters that could stand alone, it was an easy read and the perfect book to tuck into my bag for a quick glance in the few minutes I could steal away to read.  I loved the honesty of the stories from her early days as a young single mom through her later working mom tales.  All moms can appreciate the trails and tribulations of a rambunctious house of toddlers. I found her genuine and heartfelt experience as an unmarried and unexpectedly pregnant college girl powerful…she is very dedicated to the pro-life movement.   

 If I had to criticize anything it would be the mention of poop….a lot. But I have a girl and perhaps mothers of boys would shake their heads at me knowingly. The important thing is our common goal of mothering our children well…and it was nice to experience this particular funny voice.  

* I have been given an advanced copy for review by the publisher but the opinions are completely mine*

“Hiding from the Kids in My Prayer Closet: Finding Grace and Laughter, When Motherhood Gets Real,” (David C. Cook, 978-0781414845, Paperback ) releases July 1, 2017.

Now available on Amazon, Barnesandnoble.com, ChristianBook.com and wherever books are sold.

Leave a Reply

