A Winter Mantel

There is a point every year that snow ceases to be charming and begins to be annoying…no wonder the Midshipman refer to this time as the “Dark Ages”. So when I woke to a winter “wonderland” I was not amused. Never the less it was a great weekend to celebrate Chinese New Year. The Princess partied in style and was quite taken with the cocktail umbrella that garnished her milk glass.

image

Hoping that a little change might lighten my mood,  I turned some energy toward the fireplace and mantel in our front room. The fireplace is original to this 1920 four square home…although someone thought it wise to install a gas flame sometime in the late 1970’s …if only this home was truly mine (Oh the changes you would see)

image
Please excuse the presence of the television. Another “if only” moment for another time. Let’s concentrate on the good! Like my beautiful tobacco baskets. I love the texture and color. Gracing the mantel, my French baguette baking form holding ceramic pears from Thailand and three wooden spools found at a consignment shop.
image

A closer view of the fireplace. I love the original brick. On the hearth I placed an antique Swedish coal basket, a vintage fire bucket and extinguisher and antique milk bottles and carrier.

image

Flanking one side of the fireplace…my very favorite arts and crafts era chair…it was a bit of a splurge but the minute I saw it I had to have it. The old suitcases have been collected over time. The Victorian tea basket was an eBay find.

 

image

The other side of the mantel demonstrates what my creative hubby can do! We found this old radio case on the curb and with some time with his tools he converted it into a stylish way to hide that  definitely not vintage DVR box. Below is an antique Korean lunchbox and on top are treasures from our global travels. So glad we have been blessed with so many experiences.

Let’s Party…

Thrifty and Vintage Finds@Dagmar’s House

Tuesday at our House@Our Home Away from Home

Inspire Me Tuesday@A Stroll Thru Life

Talk of the Town@Knick of time

Inspire Me Wednesday@Adventures of Mel

Work it Wednesday@The Turquoise House

Wow us Wednesday@Savvy Southern Style

Share your Cup Thursday@ Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olson

Share your Style@Essence of Home

Thoughts of Home@ Poofing the Pillows

Vintage Charm Party@Charm Bracelet Diva

Shabbilicious Friday @Shabby Art Boutique

Home Sweet Home@The Charm of Home

Feather Nest Friday@ French Country Cottage

Friday Favorites@Simply Sweet Home

Share it one More Time @Vintage Paint and More

Making your Heart Sing Monday@Mom is the Word I Love to Hear

Busy Monday@Pinch of Joy

Amaze Me Monday@Dwellings the Heart Your Home

Something to Talk About@ Karen Upon the Hill

Show and Share@Coastal Charm

No Place Like Home@Rose Chinz Cottage

Inspire Me Monday@Sand and Sisal

Inspire Me Tuesday@A Stroll Thru life

The Scoop@Cedar Hill Farmhouse

 

<br />

McCall Manor

Sincerely, Paula
Oh My Heartsie Girl Friday Features Linky Party

<br />

Home Matters Linky Party - Grab Button
Thoughts from Alice

<p>

<p>

 

23 thoughts on “A Winter Mantel

  1. I love the chair stacked with suitcases and the tobacco baskets.

    I also like your positive attitude. We can’t stress over things we can’t change.

    Thanks for Sharing Your Cup!

    Like

    1. You have to embrace challenges, especially with military life…this beautiful rental needs some love but we are mere blocks from downtown Annapolis and the Naval Academy. Easy trade off for a slightly cramped and dated home for now.

      Like

    2. That chair makes appearances all over the house. I simply love it. Someday I hope to have a place to stack all my suitcases…they need to be rescued from the basement. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  2. Good morning! You are our first guest today at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. So glad you are up early with us. 🙂

    My dad lived in an American Foursquare for years. He refurbished the house and it was beautiful!

    Your daughter is precious.

    Like

    1. I have a sweet adorable alarm clock most mornings! Thank you for hosting such a lovely party, I hope there are a lot of Spring ideas linked, I am ready for the winter’s end. I am all linked up and I follow your beautiful blog on Feedly.

      Like

    2. My little alarm clock tends to be an early riser lately. We love our current home. Sometimes you have trade offs in life. This beautiful rental is in need of some love but we are within blocks of Main Street Annapolis and the Naval Academy …worth putting up with slightly tight and dated quarters. Thanks again for hosting such a fun party!

      Like

  3. I love the look and what you have done with this fireplace. I am not gifted with this kind of creativity so I always enjoy when I see someone else who pulls things together and make them look as if they were always designed to be together!!

    Like

  4. What a great post! You have a unique way of decorating and those ceramic pears on the mantel are wonderful. Of course your little one steals the whole show; she’s adorable! Thanks for sharing with us and have a beautiful day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

Leave a comment