Risotto for Sissies…

imageI had the huge blessing to live in Italy for almost five years. I ate like a queen thanks to my landlord’s wife who found it sad and strange that I was living alone without a husband. Thinking that my cooking skills might be impeding that life situation from righting itself, she  bravely offered to teach me “basic wife cooking”. Now my idea of basic cooking does not involve several days and 10’s of steps , but I did master most sauces and baked pasta dishes.  My one failure…one of my failures…was Risotto.  It should be smooth, creamy and slightly hard to the teeth…al dente…not sticky, mushy and glue like.  This particular dish is one of my favorites so I tried and tried and tried…no go Risotto.

Imagine my surprise and delight to discover The Barefoot Contessa’s no fail BAKED risotto…heaven on a plate and absolutely no fail…Princess in the basket approved! Even my Italian Mama would be impressed!

1 1/2 cups Arborio rice

5 cups simmering chicken stock, preferably homemade, divided

1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup dry white wine

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, diced

2 teaspoons kosher salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 cup frozen peas

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the rice and 4 cups of the chicken stock in a Dutch oven, such as Le Creuset. Cover and bake for 45 minutes, until most of the liquid is absorbed and the rice is al dente. Remove from the oven, add the remaining cup of chicken stock, the Parmesan, wine, butter, salt, and pepper, and stir vigorously for 2 to 3 minutes, until the rice is thick and creamy. Add the peas and stir until heated through. Serve hot

 

image

Let’s Party…

Show us Your Life@Kelly’s Korner

Busy Monday Morning@Pinch of Joy

Amaze Me Monday@Dwellings

Tuesday at my House@Our Home Away From Home

Tweak it Tuesday@Cozy Little House

Inspire Me Monday@Sand and Sisal

The Scoop@Stonegable blog

Bernideen’s Tea Party@ Bernideen’s Blog

Talk of the Town@Knick of Time

Wow us Wednesday@Savvy Southern Style

Work it Wednesday@The Blissful Bee

Home and Garden Thursday@ A Delightsome Life

Share Your Cup@Have a Daily Cup of Mrs Olson

Share Your Style@Essence of Home

Home Sweet Home@Charm of Home

Thoughts of Home@Poofing the Pillows

Feather Nest Friday@French Country Cottage

Friday Favorites@Oh My Heartsie Girl

Friday Favorites@Home Sweet Home

Share it One More Time@Shabby Fru Fru

Shabbilicious Friday@ Shabby Art Boutique

Sundays At Home@Thoughts From Alice

Busy Monday@Pinch of Joy

In The New House Designs

 

11 thoughts on “Risotto for Sissies…

  1. Sounds delish – pinning, and thank you!
    PS – love your bio, esp the last phrase….”my husband is often confused.” Hahaha. I think your hubby and mine would get along just fine. Mine gets embarrassed when my head turns as we walk through the neighborhood the eve before trash pickup. 😉 Visitng from Dwellings.
    Rita C at Panoply

    Like

  2. This sounds wonderful! We love risotto but I’ve never made it. My husband is not a picky eater but he has quirks, one of which is that he will not eat anything with chicken broth. He loves risotto but he has no idea there’s chicken broth in it. I’m going to try this. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment