School Days!

Back in the day I don’t ever remember school starting before Labor Day. At that point you could feel Fall around the edges of the world and the beginning of school just seemed a natural event. Next week the Princess will put on her much too large backpack and enter a new classroom for preschool. I think the fact that I will be teaching at the same school helps take away the sting. But still, she seems much too tiny to be so independent.  She would disagree.  In her honor, I have put together a back to school fireplace mantel.  Enjoy…


I am in love with vintage school items…and always looking for new elements.  The cigar mold is the oddity.   I thought it added an interesting graphic.  


Vintage school books topped by an antique teacher’s school bell. Imagine how many little hands turned the pages in these texts. 


A red lunch pail from the 1920’s and vintage ink bottles. Such beauty in the commonplace.   


When I found this chalkboard the seller said the chalk message was original to the 1876 date…doubtful…but nice to think about.   

A back to school picnic…tradition in the making!

Show and Share. Inspire Me Monday. No Place Like Home. Tuesday at our house. The Scoop. Inspire Me Tuesday.            Thrifty and vintage Finds. Make it Pretty. Titus 2 Tuesday. Monday of Many Blessings. Art of Homemaking.                          Wow us Wednesday. Talk of the town. Let’s talk vintage. Share it. Vintage bliss. Moonlight and Mason jars.                     Tuesday with a twist. Work it Wednesday. Share your cup. Share your style. Home and garden. Welcome home Wednesday  Thursday favorites. Wonderful Wednesday. Waste not Wednesday. Thoughts of home. Vintage charm party.                        Your inspired design. Friday features. Home sweet home. Feather nest Friday. Sweet and simple. Morning cup of joe. Home matters. Sweet Inspiration. Best of the Weekend. Vintage chic. Sunday at home.       Share it one more time. Peace love link. Amaze me Monday. Busy Monday. Inspiration Monday. Digging it.      Little house links. Finding Silver Pennies. Made by you  Friendship Friday. Tada Thursday. Funtastic Friday. Snickerdoodle. Simple Saturday

29 thoughts on “School Days!

  1. Your mantel is so full of personality, Amy! It’s wonderful that you will be teaching in your little one’s school. I always loved the smell and feel of books which is why I have to have the real thing in my hands. No techie readers for me. The stack of books topped with the old bell is just so charming. I had several old text books from my elementary days and sadly, I had to dispose of them because we’re downsizing. Everyone told me it was going to be painful and they were right. It is a long process and there will be many sentimental things not coming with me. Just the memories. Thanks for sharing your post with us and enjoy your day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My parents are also going through the downsizing. I brought back many treasures after my last visit but most are living in our basement until we have more room. The books and bell are my favorite as well.

      Like

  2. I love everything about your mantle! I have a weakness for vintage school items as well. I have never seen a chalkboard like that. It’s awesome! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great idea to style a mantle in honor of school days starting. I love all your vintage things–we have a very similar jar of old marbles, and of course love the old books and bell!

    Like

  4. It is a hectic/wonderful time of year, right? So many expectations. You are starting wonderful traditions and I love your mantle.

    Thank you for sharing at Thoughts of Home.

    Laura
    White Spray Paint

    Like

  5. I am so glad you will be working at her school! She will love pre school, my granddaughter is in her second year of preschool because her birthday was too late for kindergarten this year. They grow up so fast!! Thank you for sharing your wonderful mantle and your little princess with us at TaDa Thursday!!

    Like

  6. Aww, I hope she has a wonderful start of preschool! I remember when my youngest started and it was a special day! I wish I would have decorated then for back to school, your mantel is so fun with all these lovely vintage finds!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I remember the first day of school for my kids (like it was yesterday) and that sting you mentioned!! They had no problem at all with settling…. It was me who had the problem!!! LOL Hope all goes well and just love all of your items that you have on your mantel to celebrate such a special moment!

    Thank you so much for sharing your special day over at Waste Not Wednesday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh my goodness you have the sweetest collection. I love those vintage books and bell. How lovely and so happy you shared at the Dishing it and Digging it link party. We love having you.

    Like

Leave a comment