Treasures from another land

Military life can be hard…moving, leaving friends, moving again…and repeat. On the plus side, the opportunity to travel and discover faraway lands can’t be beat. I have wonderful memories of time spent overseas and am very blessed that my home reflects that special time of my life.  Let me show you some of my favorites!


This gorgeous basket is an antique German wedding basket! They are very hard to find now in good condition, so I really am lucky to have one in my home.


Can you just image the history behind this Korean Apothecary cabinet?  I would love to have the labels translated. Medical care has certainly improved in 150 years or so.


A Step tansu is a staple in a Korean home. The best part is the ability to easily take it apart and rearrange the cubes in many different ways. Kind of like building blocks for adults.


OK, who didn’t smile when they saw this picture? Kokeshi dolls from Japan have that effect on people.


Of course this is our greatest treasure from another land…unique and priceless!

show and share. Inspire me Monday. Tuesday at our house. The scoop. Metamorphosis                   Inspire me Tuesday   Make it pretty. Art of homemaking. Made by you.                        Gods great Garden. Tuesday with a twist.    Share it                    Let’s talk vintage. Wonderful Wednesday. Brag about it. Wow us Wednesday.              Talk of the town. Moonlight and Mason jars. Work it Wednesday. Share your cup. Share your style. Home and garden. Welcome home. Thursday favorites         Waste not. Coffee and conversation. Vintage charm. Your inspired design.      Friday features   Home sweet home. Feather nest Friday. Tada friendship Friday. Funtastic Friday. Grace at home. Morning cup of joe. Home matters. Vintage chic. Sweet inspiration. Oh hey Friday. Best of the weekend. Sunday at home.            Share it one more time   Simple Saturday. Snickerdoodle.  Silver pennies. Create with joy. Inspiration Sunday. Digging it. Let’s add sprinkles. Amaze me Monday. Proverbs 31

42 thoughts on “Treasures from another land

  1. The Princess is a treasure beyond measure! A very beautiful picture of a very beautiful little girl!! Thank-you for sharing! Your other treasures are also beautiful and I always love to see them in your posts. The Kokeshi dolls and the step tansu are spectacular. I’ll guess that The Princess is quite in love with those adorable dolls too. I love that German wedding basket, it is a wonderful treasure. The Korean apothecary cabinet is unique and must have stories to tell. Thank-you for this lovely post and your always gorgeous photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE those Kokeshi dolls! My bestie is retired military, so she and her family lived all over the world. She has some of the best treasures too. I try not to covet my friends wonderful goodies….but oh my goodness!!! You are most blessed to have lived so many wonderful places, and experienced fabulous cultures….and I have to agree…that last pic is the greatest of all! My bestie, too, adopted and has a beautiful (grown) daughter from the Philippines. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. I always enjoy my time at your blog. Please stop by when you get a chance!

    Chippy White Cottage Blessings,
    Rebecca

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was truly a blessed time in my life…but I am like you, it is so hard sometimes to see the gorgeous homes in person or on blogs and not feel a tiny bit of envy.
      Our little Princess is a joy to us! I can’t imagine life without her.

      Like

  3. What lovely treasures, and your daughter is of course the best treasure of all. . . Love all that you are showing here, but the tansu is something I’ve never seen before, and now I want one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Objects, especially those that are crafted by artisans who put their hearts into their work, can connect us to people from far-away places or to people from the past. I have so many “treasures” in my home that would NOT have great monetary value in any marketplace; but, they have great value to me as talismans of people and places in my life. Thank you for sharing your beautiful treasures from far-away places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always joke that a robber would be confused if he came into the house. We have precious little electronics, but we do have a few antique crafts they would probably overlook. I love the idea of collecting and decorating because of my attraction to the emotional response. I can’t image selling any of my lovely memories!

      Like

  5. What wonderful and unique decor pieces and opportunities to travel the world. These pieces are something to look at for years to come and to remember and cherish the memories. You have such a beautiful daughter. So precious.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh your princess certainly is unique and priceless! And yes, those little dolls did make me smile. Also love the apothecary cabinet. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You have some very lovely treasures from other lands. It is wonderful that you collect from all the places you have lived creating some very desirable diverse collections. I agree your sweet Princess is the treasure from another land that is priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You have so many pretty treasures, your daughter being the prettiest and most precious treasure of all. I love the german basket and never heard of one until now. I like your pictures on the stair wall too.
    Betsy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow, what awesome treasures! My father traveled the world when I was a kid and I could hardly wait for him to come home with another doll to add to my collection! Your items are priceless, as are the experiences and your little princess! She’s a real doll! Thanks for sharing at Vintage Charm. Hope to see you there tomorrow! xo Kathleen Charm Bracelet Dive {At Home};

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The three pieces are so absolutely stunning and yes treasures. I had never heard of a German wedding basket, is that sort of like a hope chest? The cubes are gorgeous and the cabinet also such a wonderful piece to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly like a hope chest. A young girl would store her treasures for her future marriage. As they fell out of style most ended up in barns and storage sheds. Some were painted horrible colors to make them modern. A few survived. I am so happy to have a piece of history.

      Like

Leave a comment