Hidden Strawberry Bread

I am calling this hidden strawberry bread. The reason? While pursuing the contents of our backup basement freezer my Hero found a bag of strawberries way in the back from our strawberry picking experience from last May. What a find! It’s a simple quick bread and I am quite proudly using coconut oil for the first time…I’m a little late to that party apparently.

The Usual Cast Of Characters

1 1/2. cups all-purpose flour

1/2. cup sugar

2 1/2. teaspoons baking powder

1/2. teaspoon salt

1. egg, lightly beaten

1/2. cup mashed banana (1 large)

1/2. cup milk

1/3. cup coconut oil, heated if needed to become more liquid

1/2. cup sliced strawberries

The Steps to Glory

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 8×4-inch loaf pan with shortening or cooking spray.

2. In large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, coconut, baking powder and salt; make well in center of mixture.

3. In medium bowl, beat egg, mashed banana, milk and oil with whisk until well blended. Add wet mixture to dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened. Stir in the strawberries. Spoon batter into pan.

4. Bake 45 to 60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Remove from pan to cooling rack. Cool completely, about 1 hour.

Sweet treat with tea!

Did you feel Spring in the air this weekend? Such a lovely Saturday…Sunday not so much. The Princess was inspired by the warm weather and decided sketching in the garden was good way to spend the day.

Inspire me Monday. Tuesday at our house. The scoop. Inspire me Tuesdaymake it pretty. Made by you. Metamorphosis. You’re the star. Tuesday with a twist. Wow us. Wonderful Wednesday. Talk Of The town. Keep in touch. Beautifully made. Share your style. Home and garden. Thursday favorites. Waste not. Dagmar’s house Friday features. Home sweet home. Feather nest. Friendship Friday. Funtastic FridayGrace at home. Pit stop. Morning cup of joe. Home matters. Sweet inspiration. Best of the weekend. Create bake grow. 5 Things Friday. Fresh market. Sunday at home. Share it. Snickerdoodle. Happiness is homemade. Saturday shuffle. Silver pennies. Create with joy. Inspiration Monday. DI&DI. Amaze me. Smell good Sunday. Over the moon.

11 thoughts on “Hidden Strawberry Bread

  1. The bread looks yummy, but what really caught my eye at the Home Sweet Home link-up was the Desert Rose plate. That is my favorite china pattern. My grandmother used it when I was growing up, and now I do to.

    Blessings to you,
    Patti @ Ninety-Twelve Psalms Avenue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were my Grandmother’s dishes! They are not perfect but each chip is part of history I think. Many Sunday meals were served on these plates. I can still see her hand washing them so carefully. I’m so glad you love them as well!

      Like

  2. I have some strawberries in the fridge – this looks like a great recipe to try! Thanks for sharing at The Blogger’s Pit Stop! Can’t wait to see what you link up next week! Roseann from This Autoimmune Life

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This recipe looks absolutely yummy …I have the same Desert Rose china plates ( ha Ha) You don’t see them too often … Yes ..This would be a great Sunday bake for me ( Thanks) .. and .. The princess is soaking up lots of inspiration from the sunshine.. Drawing is a such a good idea… Little cutie… have a lovely Sunday !!!..Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were my Grandmother’s plates. I don’t really use them enough. They are not in perfect shape but I love to think of her serving dinner and hand washing them after Sunday dinner.
      Only hoping for a bit more sun and heat this week. Winter coats in April?

      Like

Leave a comment